On most social networks we share links of interesting articles, internet memes we find funny, popular cat photos; and share updates about our daily lives using a combination of content, like videos, photos, and the written word. However, Instagram is different than the typical social network, in that it is where we share our lives solely through photographs.
Instagram is where we go to post photos of everything we find interesting, from pictures of our friends and family members, right down to what delicious foods we are eating for lunch. This social network encourages us to capture moments, no matter how big or small they may be, and enables us to share them with the world in hopes of connecting with others through a little red heart.
Users of the site have always been allowed to communicate the “what” and the “where” of their photographs, but up until yesterday, we were unable to share the “who”. Instagram now offers users the ability to tag other users in photos they have taken with its new site feature, aptly called, “Photos of You.”
After uploading a photo to Instagram, resizing the picture, and choosing a filter (or not), users will see a new section has been added called “Add People,” which is located just below the caption box. By simply tapping on the new section and then on the photo itself, users can add people to their photo, but it doesn’t stop at just people, you can also add places, like your favorite pizza shop, or even the furry friends you follow, as long as they have an account on Instagram, they can be added to your photos.
Another new section will also be found under your profile, called “Photos of You.” When someone adds you to a photo, you’ll receive a notification and the photo will appear in the Photos of You section on Instagram.
With this new feature, you are also able to adjust your settings so that you can approve photos you are tagged in by other users, prior to it being posted under your Photos of You section. Users have until May 16th to become familiarized with this exciting new feature before their Photos of You section on their profile is visible to others.
This new Photos of You feature will undoubtedly connect us even further through our photographs on Instagram.
Read more Share Worthy News on Sharocity’s blog.